Decorum for the Forum:
  • Be nice. If you want to be mean, try Reddit.
  • No Piracy. If you want to be a thief, there are dark places on the internet dedicated to that.
  • No Cracking. Discussions on AnyDVD, DeUHD, DVDFab, UHDKeys and similar tools are not permitted here.
  • No Spamming. If you want to make a buck, work smarter... somewhere else.
  • No Adult Content. Half the internet is dedicated to adult content. This half isn't.

Privacy Policy: Click Here to Review (updated September 30, 2020)

[RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Chameleon CentralController (CCC) is used to export My Movies metadata directly to CMC's Movie DB, and manage User Accounts and Parental Restrictions, and tracks Watch History and WatchLists on a per-user basis.
Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

[RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am

Hi Paul,
Now that I finally got my Windows Server Essentials 2016 server up and running last weekend, I installed and ran CCC on it tonight. I found CCC very easy to configure and run. I gave it its own standard user account, and I added it to the media group, so it would inherit the rights to that group. Now that I’ve seen it run, I think I’ll take it out of the group because it really doesn’t need access to the movie and music folders. It only communicates with MyMovies through the MyMovies API to create its own database. I put CCC in my CoveCube DrivePool that I’m using for mass storage instead of the C drive, so it has plenty of room for its data. It took 45 minutes to generate the database for 613 titles. Most of that time was spent waiting for MyMovies to validate the data before handing it over to CCC.

I’m going to put in a request for Brian to provide a switch to turn validation on and off when exporting. He could provide a call into the Api so CCC can request no validation during export. You could then provide a button in CCC to toggle validation on or off during a first time export and/or title updates in MyMovies. Maybe you should consider having CCC run as a service.

I’ll complete the setup of CMC on my HTPC Saturday when I get my hdmi cable from Amazon. I’ll let you know how it goes. My HTPC is a ancient Intel Clarkdale itx motherboard. It works great for HD and dvds, but I’m going to upgrade it so I can watch 4k UHD movies in the next month or two.I’m going to keep it intel based since that’s what powerdvd likes. Makes things easy.

Finally a central database. No more pesky xml files. After I get CMC running, I’m going to delete them from the movie folders on my server.
Well done Paul. 😁

Efrain
Last edited by Teddyboy on Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:31 am

Hey Efrain, that's awesome! Hopefully you like it even more once you get CMC up and running.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am
Now that I’ve seen it run, I think I’ll take it out of the group because it really doesn’t need access to the movie and music folders.
There is one feature that requires read-only access to the movie folders: Settings > Metadata Export > Validate File Paths for All Discs.

I recommend you give that a try before removing access. Since you'll no longer be running CMC Syncs against your movie folders, this is the on data integrity check left. I've found that on occasion my file paths get corrupt, I think it happens when I rename a movie folder, then rename it again real quick because of a typo. This seems to send My Movies into a death spiral, and it applies some type of hybrid name to a whole bunch of movies, not just the one I was working with for renaming.

I typically run this about once a month. You might end up changing your mind on removing access.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am
I’m going to put in a request for Brian to provide a switch to turn validation on and off when exporting. He could provide a call into the Api so CCC can request no validation during export. You could then provide a button in CCC to toggle validation on or off during a first time export and/or title updates in MyMovies. Maybe you should consider having CCC run as a service.
Yes please, that would be great. I posted a similar request, and he said he would look into it. But if more users echo that request, that might move him to action.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am
I’m going to keep it intel based since that’s what powerdvd likes. Makes things easy.
Agreed. I'd love to hear your feedback on performance with the processor you end up getting. I'm looking at doing something similar myself. While I'm fairly confident almost any current Intel processor would run fine in PowerDVD, I'm more curious if any can handle the load of running madVR.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am
Well done Paul.
:D
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:33 am

Teddyboy wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:16 am
Maybe you should consider having CCC run as a service.
I'd like to hear your thoughts on this after you complete all tutorial steps, particularly #401.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:15 pm

My htpc is connected to the network and it sees my server on the network. The server just finished backing up my htpc so it is connected to it. The htpc is not connected to the domain because I only want to use the server for backing up the pc. The pc sees the server and shared folders. It times out when I check for network connectivity to CCC, but when I test for connectivity for the shared network folder it tells me that CMC is connected to the shared folder. I made sure that CMC is not being blocked by windows firewall. I double checked and made sure that CCC is running on my server. At this point I can’t run a full sync. I see a exclamation point in the middle of the sync button.
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Sun Jan 17, 2021 8:32 am

Most likely CCC is being blocked by a firewall on the server. Did you follow the tutorial on troubleshooting connectivity issues?
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:09 pm

I made sure that ccc is allowed through the server firewall. I still got the connection timeout. I Noticed that when I check for ccc’s net share folder connectivity. It states that cmc is connected. In the dialog box it says it’s connected to //servername/ccc. I think it should be //servername/software/cmc4.1.xxx/ccc/netshare? Does it want to be installed on the servers c drive instead of a shared folder? I just ran ccc from the shared folder when I downloaded it and unzipped it to my shared software folder, and it didn’t complain about it. I’m thinking I could kill the ccc task and move the entire folder structure to the servers c drive, and run ccc again and try to connect to it. I could also just kill the task an unzip a fresh install to the servers c drive and run ccc again and let it build the database the try to connect. I don’t think it likes to be run from a shared folder. What do you think Paul.
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:53 pm

Teddyboy wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:09 pm
I Noticed that when I check for ccc’s net share folder connectivity. It states that cmc is connected. In the dialog box it says it’s connected to //servername/ccc.
This is correct. CCC is a Network share, and that is the path to the share.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:09 pm
I think it should be //servername/software/cmc4.1.xxx/ccc/netshare?
No, this would be wrong. CCC shares the NetShare folder as //ServerName/CCC.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:09 pm
I don’t think it likes to be run from a shared folder. What do you think Paul.
It's absolutely fine where it is, no need to move it. In fact, if you move it, you might cause other problems.

Teddyboy wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:09 pm
I made sure that ccc is allowed through the server firewall. I still got the connection timeout.
CMC connects to CCC two different ways.

The first way is via the shared network folder, //ServerName/CCC, and you've confirmed this is working. This is the connection that retrieves the artwork.

The second way is via TCP on port 1031. This is what is failing. This is the connection that retrieves the Movie Database.

Both ways need to work. We only need to troubleshoot the TCP connection.

You didn't specify how you allowed CCC through the firewall. Please make sure that CCC can receive Inbound traffic on port 1031.

Also make sure that CMC has outbound network/internet access, since it has to call CCC on port 1031.

If you provide screenshots of your config (CMC settings for CCC, and firewall settings for both CMC and CCC) I can help you troubleshoot.

Also, just to make sure - CCC is running, right? CCC must be running for CMC to connect to it.

All of this and more is explained here: 202 - Troubleshooting Connectivity Issues
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:05 pm

I did move it, but I think I'll just move it back. You're right it's agnostic. I'll have to create a rule in the server firewall to allow CCC to communicate through the port 1031 for inbound traffic. I'll create a rule for CMC to 1031 for outbound traffic. If I bork it completely I'll just wipe the CMC folder and start over.
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:46 pm

Teddyboy wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:05 pm
If I bork it completely I'll just wipe the CMC folder and start over.
Careful here.

Windows has a bad behavior if you delete a shared folder (in this case the NetShare) without removing the Share itself first. The Share will still exist, but will be pointing at a folder that doesn't exist, and you won't be able to delete or manage the Share.

If this happens, this will also prevent a new install of CCC in a different folder to not be able to recreate the Share on the new path.

Worse case, if this happens, you'll want to recreate the original folder path to the Share as it is currently configured, then you can delete the Share manually, or run CCC and let it update the Share.

This is an unfortunate side-effect of Windows Shares and how they work, not much I can do here. In general, I recommend you do not move the CCC install, otherwise you have these challenges.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:52 pm

CCC is indeed running. I didn't wipe the folder. I killed the task then I moved it back to the shared folder in the drivepool, it didn't ask me if I wanted to create the share. I sill have connectivity to the NetShare. I created a inbound rule for CCC on port 1031 and a outbound rule on the htpc for CMC for 1031. I test the connectivity and I still get no access. I think I'm mucking around to much, and just getting deeper into the weeds.
Attachments
ccc inbound.png
ccc inbound.png (49.27 KiB) Viewed 972 times
CMC outbound.png
CMC outbound.png (8.06 KiB) Viewed 972 times
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

Post Reply