Decorum for the Forum:
  • Be nice. If you want to be mean, try Reddit.
  • No Piracy. If you want to be a thief, there are dark places on the internet dedicated to that.
  • No Cracking. Discussions on AnyDVD, DeUHD, DVDFab, UHDKeys and similar tools are not permitted here.
  • No Spamming. If you want to make a buck, work smarter... somewhere else.
  • No Adult Content. Half the internet is dedicated to adult content. This half isn't.

Privacy Policy: Click Here to Review (updated September 30, 2020)

[Fixed in v4.2.2021.0203] ERROR: Not a valid floating point value

Chameleon CentralController (CCC) is used to export My Movies metadata directly to CMC's Movie DB, and manage User Accounts and Parental Restrictions, and tracks Watch History and WatchLists on a per-user basis.
ScoobyAS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:17 pm

[Fixed in v4.2.2021.0203] ERROR: Not a valid floating point value

Post by ScoobyAS » Tue Feb 02, 2021 9:30 am

Just installed CCC v4.2 and MyMovies v5.4.

When I try to "Run Full Export Now" I receive the error message '5.4' is not a valid floating point value (?).

Is there maybe an incompatibility between CCC and MM's newest version?
Attachments
Error.jpg
Error.jpg (193.03 KiB) Viewed 1214 times
Last edited by ScoobyAS on Tue Feb 02, 2021 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Tue Feb 02, 2021 9:36 am

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

5.4 sure looks like a valid floating point value, so I'm not sure why that error is occurring. Perhaps there is a funky character in there.

I'm still running 5.31. I'll go ahead and upgrade to 5.4 to troubleshoot.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Tue Feb 02, 2021 12:13 pm

I just finished upgrading to My Movies v5.4.0.100, and it is working just fine with CCC v4.2.2021.0131:

image.png
image.png (117.51 KiB) Viewed 1213 times

Is the issue you're encountering repeatable, or was this a 1-time fluke?
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Tue Feb 02, 2021 12:18 pm

I just did some research, and it looks like this error could occur if your PC is configured to use a comma as the decimal separator, instead of a period.

Here in the US, we use a comma to separate thousands, and a period to separate decimals, i.e: 1,000.00.

I've hard-coded (sorry) the String To Float conversion to use a period, so CMC is converting a string with a period, "5.4", to a real floating number. But if your PC is configured to use a comma for the decimal separator, it would need to be "5,4".

Can you confirm this is the issue?

I can make an adjustment in my code to fix this.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

ScoobyAS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by ScoobyAS » Wed Feb 03, 2021 3:42 am

Yes, I can confirm. That should be the solution to the riddle.

Teddyboy
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: [RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Teddyboy » Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:50 am

Paul you should move his question to its own topic. It will be easier to see as my issue has been resolved.
Mechanical Engineer, Solidworks junkie, Reef aquariums, sci-fi, weight training, orchids, Ferns, Kaiju, model kit building, balboa park, scripps aquarium

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Wed Feb 03, 2021 12:20 pm

ScoobyAS wrote:
Wed Feb 03, 2021 3:42 am
Yes, I can confirm. That should be the solution to the riddle.
I have just posted v4.2.2021.0203 which should fix this issue. Please test and let me know.

Teddyboy wrote:
Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:50 am
Paul you should move his question to its own topic. It will be easier to see as my issue has been resolved.
I will, after ScoobyAS reports back. I didn't want to confuse him with a disappearing topic.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

ScoobyAS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by ScoobyAS » Wed Feb 03, 2021 1:23 pm

Where did you post the fix?

User avatar
Pauven
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:28 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by Pauven » Wed Feb 03, 2021 1:37 pm

CMC will download the update for you.
President, Chameleon Consulting LLC
Author, Chameleon MediaCenter

ScoobyAS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] First Time CCC Install and Run

Post by ScoobyAS » Wed Feb 03, 2021 2:32 pm

Well done, the fix is working. THX

Post Reply