Decorum for the Forum:
  • Be nice. If you want to be mean, try Reddit.
  • No Piracy. If you want to be a thief, there are dark places on the internet dedicated to that.
  • No Cracking. Discussions on AnyDVD, DeUHD, DVDFab, UHDKeys and similar tools are not permitted here.
  • No Spamming. If you want to make a buck, work smarter... somewhere else.
  • No Adult Content. Half the internet is dedicated to adult content. This half isn't.

Privacy Policy: Click Here to Review (updated September 30, 2020)

[DIY] Big Hero 6 Hiro's Fighting Robot - Megabot (Work In Progress)

A place to share your purchased and home-made movie props and replicas. Full-scale, life-size replicas only - figurines and scale models not welcome here.
Pauven

[DIY] Big Hero 6 Hiro's Fighting Robot - Megabot (Work In Progress)

Post by Pauven » Wed Apr 14, 2021 5:03 pm

Now that I've been building my movie prop collection for a few years, it's hard to know where to start sharing. Probably the best starting point is with my currently printing project, Hiro's fighting robot from Big Hero 6, which I believe is called the Megabot.

image.png
image.png (1.33 MiB) Viewed 5565 times

I was browsing Thingiverse for ideas a week ago, and when I saw the Megabot I knew this would make an ideal project, so I promptly downloaded it: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1358483

image.png
image.png (590.94 KiB) Viewed 5565 times

Magnets
To finish the build, the design required 16 disc magnets of the size 9mm x 5mm, which I didn't have on hand, so I went in a different direction. I've been learning Fusion 360 lately, so I decided this would make an excellent project to model. I took some measurements from the Thingiverse model, but otherwise created everything from scratch. This allowed me to make some very important changes.